Wednesday, August 23, 2006

more rants

i think we have to be bolder with stating what we clearly like and dislike- its all subjective- so who cares whether the artist wanted to do 7 fingers-thats cool- and if in responce i hate it, well thats okay too. art has become far too concerned with the 'cool'- so many of the new up and coming artists are so stuck up their own arses with what is in, whats taboo, trying to push the limits, and being controversial rather than just going with their own ideas, having some clues as to where the ideas come from, embrace their heritage, background, influences, bullshit and all the rest. i hate it that you have to be in the know to understand current conceptual art- that its some elite society without access to ordinary people. thats why too many people are terrified to comment on whether they like something or not- why they are too scared to say whether its shit or not- as they are too afraid that if they hate it, then that means that they simply dont understand it, they are out of the loop, stupid, and clueless. its such shit. let it impact on you, if you dont understand at least have the balls to ask, claim it, find out the background, and if you still think its bad, then say it. be proud. there is too much rubbish out there to accept it blindly- without interrogating it or having personal opinions.
i write shit, but this is becoming increasingly important and relevant these days- too many people think that art belongs in some fancy places, removed from everyone, and that you need some hard core degree from an acclaimed institute in foreign shores to produce it, that it comes with age, experience and understanding. sometimes it just comes- sometimes its ugly, sometimes its amazing and comes from a kid. the world is complex and simple at the same time- why is art, the most subjective subject and practise of them all any different.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home